Social Experiment: PD

Standard

First of all, I would like to apologize for the long hiatus of the site, and it is largely due to the piling assignments and projects I had to accomplish for the summer term. I do hope you would be able to understand, grades don’t just earn by themselves you know.

Speaking of grades, our professor has an assignment for us this weekend: to go to the mall. Yes, MALL. Her’s the catch. We had to rent a wheelchair, and ride on it for an hour, and note the reactions we get from the people. We should play the part of a person with a physical disability. How would shopping feel for us? How would going to the bathroom be so difficult? These are what she wants us to ponder upon.

I have to admit, I am very excited about this activity. Last semester, I did not have a chance to act out like a child with autism for an extra credit assignment, but now, we are actually required to do so. I am looking forward to the results of this little experiment, though I do not think there would be much a notable reaction because I think, people have already gotten use to seeing people in wheelchairs. Maybe it is how they would interact with them that I will take note of. Anyway, I would post my observations and reactions soon.

Leave a Reply

