Day of Epic Proportions (cont.)

Standard

Well as the title suggests, today was the continuation of an epic day. Unlike the other day, today was a lot different.

My day began at around 5:00 am, and when I woke up, there was heavy rain. Not just a downpour, but also strong winds. I contemplated for quite a while whether to go to the review class I was going to teach. In the end, i waited for the rain to stop and went to the school, where I was supposed to teach. What subject you may ask? GEOMETRY!

Remember the last time I taught two weeks ago? Yeah, the learning experience of my life? (just a recap, I taught English then, and was a failure.) Now, I came back teaching Math! The worst subject of my life. The night before, I read some books about it, and this morning, I taught. It was FUN. Yes, I had such fun teaching Mathematics.

The students were quite responsive, and that really made me smile. Some students were teasing me with my colleague, and that made me more comfortable in teaching and relating to them. I knew I still had some faults, when there were times I still lacked knowledge on certain items, had made mistakes quite a few times, but I knew it was so much better than last time.

So, that was what happened in the morning session of the review classes. The afternoon was a whole different story.

There was no more geometry lessons left to be taught, so I just watched and observed my colleagues’ ways of teaching. There was one guy, a co-teacher, who had a number of students having a crush on him. He was so stressed when teaching the class because not only did they have no background of Trigonometry, but also they were very distracted. It took him 2 hours to finish what needed to be taught. Alone. That was for the first class.

The second class was much more noisy than the first one. One girl blushed so hard, when my friend just entered the room. She was so distracted, and the friends also kept on teasing her. I’m sure they learned only a few things. After about an hour, my friend take over his spot. ME? teach Trigonometry?! I forgot everything about that already! But I had to do it, he was dead tired. I tried my best, but had some faulty explanations, but during those times, my friend covered for me. I think I did rather well, for someone who had a blank memory of all those things.

It was really a learning experience once again, but this time it was so much FUN. I now begin to understand why a teacher is also a student. It filled me with great joy, when I hear them say thank you, say they understood it, or even just hear crazy ideas from them. It was and I hope it would always be amazing.

Leave a Reply

