For the First Time

Standard

Last year, I was determined to join the student council of our college, but a couple of weeks ago, I declined their offer.

I remember those days when I wanted a position, yet I threw away one of the highest positions I could ever have. I threw away one of the biggest opportunities I wished for.

Nonetheless, I want to experience getting nominated for a position, so I ran for a position in our organization- a position as the executive for finance.

Upon hearing the news, a lot of the members questioned my decision. They think I fit a better position. It maybe lower, but they think it is a job only I could handle at the moment. I am extremely happy that, for once in my life, people believe in me, in my skills and ideas. Still, I chose a decision against all expectations. Even though I wanted the lower position in the first place, there are several reasons that made me choose otherwise:

1. My academics- having the higher position would take less time away from my academics. The higher position is a one-man team, unlike the lower one. I would be able to work on my own pace.

2. My Working Style- a lot of people say that I am strict and a perfectionist. It may sound rude by I do not want anyone slowing me down. Also, I do not like or am uncomfortable when working in teams.

3. My Friend- my friend wants the lower position though I do not think she is capable YET to lead it.

The elections would happen in a couple of days. I do hope I get to explain my plans well in the forum (we call it a grilling) before the elections.

One response »

  1. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and
    I’m impressed! Very useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

