Fueling the Passion

Standard

Below is an essay I wrote for a competition. When I wrote the answer, I had the question on my mind. After reading my answer, I realized that I wasn’t able to answer the question. I ended up making a different essay. I didn’t want it to go to waste, so here it is:

Ever since I could remember, I have always wanted to become a teacher. Not a lot of people were happy about my choice. Even my own parents looked down upon that day I submitted my college application forms. Until today, that shadow of disappointment continues to haunt me.

Whenever I meet new people, they would ask where I studied. Upon hearing that I entered into this prestigious university, they would be surprised, excited, and eager to learn more.  But when they find out my degree program, everyone can see the drastic shift in their emotions. Some of them would even joke that I had to start saving up right now for my future.

One might think that these criticisms would lead me to stop everything and study a different field. Instead, these events in my life actually motivate me to pursue the profession and make the most out of my chosen field. In doing so, everyone would be able to see how much anyone can achieve when there is passion.

I never thought of my classes, my responsibilities, my roles as a burden, and this is greatly manifested in how I worked and its output. Being able to accomplish so much is because I love what I do. The recognition that came with it was completely unexpected. It was only when I began listing these down that I realized that I have done so much, even though it never felt like that at all.

As I practice my vocation, my life serves as an inspiration to others– to pursue with passion. It is that passion that would wake them up every morning, forgetting the physical limitations of one’s body. It is that passion that would lead them to be recognized by others even if no one ever believed them.

Leave a Reply

